Skip to content

Holy Junior Year Batman

May 2, 2007

So this year… WOW this year. I really have learned so much. It has gone by so fast- I feel like it was just last year at this time.

I think it is so weird that as students, we measure years in 9 month/3 month periods.. not 12 months like everyone else in the world does. We get to take those 3 months off from our jobs as students. That’s why I think being a student is so unique. Adults in the real world (unless they have gone into academia) don’t get to do that, and I think it is wonderful, and feel lucky to take time off one more summer before I am thrust into the real world.

I think this year was the hardest year I have ever had. Everything that I had bottled up for years and years threatened to pull me under, and I was forced to really look at who I was, and where my life was going. Through an incredible support system, i realized what I needed to do to make everything okay again.

One of the most important things I learned this year was to do things for myself… Not compromise my happiness for someone else’s. I didn’t realize just how unfair it was for me to be making myself sick so that I could watch out for someone else. I still firmly believe that it is a good quality to have a need to watch out for someone who I care about.

…. I wrote this this morning, and now I am in a different mood.
i’ll continue when I find it again

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

