Skip to content

Shoes

October 25, 2007

So I have been thinking a lot about shoes today, and it is only 10:30.

First. Running Shoes (these are the exact ones I have!)


I ran this morning. what? Yep, I ran. I was running a whole lot last fall, winter, and spring, but then I took a spill down a flight of stairs, and hurt my back. No more running for this girl. I did run once since then- in Florence… but I got catcalled constantly, which made for a miserable experience. My back has since been worked on by a chiro (it still hurts often, don’t get me wrong), but has made a great improvement. I feel generally unhealthy pretty often, so I decided to get up and start into some physical activity.
We’ll see how this lasts.

Second- Ruby Slippers

I am having a hard time deciding on what to be for halloween.. so I decided to go with Dorothy. When I was in Italy this summer, I kept coming across this pair of red glitter ballet flats… much like these on the right here. They reminded me so much like Dorothy’s shoes in the Wizard of Oz, that I just had to buy them. Wizard of Oz just might be my favorite movie of all time. So i bartered for them (14 euro aint bad) and ended up wearing them home from Europe as a symbolic thing. I hate to travel, so I figured if there really was magic, I would be able to click my heel together and end up back in Dayton, Ohio. There was no such luck. That was the last time I wore the shoes though.. so I decided that Halloween would be a good time to revive the slippers.
Fun fact:
Did you know that the shoes written about in the books were silver? MGM totally came up with the idea for the ruby slippers, and I think they were brilliant to do that. Dorothy just wouldn’t be the same without her ruby slippers.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

