Skip to content

Nick Drake’s Voice

April 2, 2008

I’m sitting here at Starbucks, where it seems I spend all of my free time these days. There is a Nick Drake song playing and his voice has this dreamy quality that I just love. The first time I remember hearing it was on the Volkswagen commercial about 7 years ago. Somehow it became a song I listened to a lot at the beginning of David and My relationship. Something about the song Pink Moon just screams 16 year old summer romance. Keeping that in mind, I get a warm and fuzzy feeling when I hear his voice. Needless to say, I like to listen to Nick Drake.

It reminds me of the drive home way past my curfew, and reminds me of spending hours at the arboretum in my town right when the light starts to vanish. There really is nothing quite like being 16 and in love, unaware of the whole life ahead of you with the person you are in love with. I think I always kind of knew that David was it…

Those 6 years just FLEW by and here I am, graduating college in 4 weeks, marrying my summer boyfriend in 6 months. I really couldn’t have expected a better future at 16.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

