Skip to content

I Have People

April 18, 2008

My sister works at Starbucks, and she refers to her co-workers as her “people”. After visiting her in Lexington back at the start of March, I decided that it’s just where she keeps her friends. She is good friends with everyone she works with, and if there is someone who doesn’t work there; she manages to get them a job… and adds them to her collection of friends she keeps at Starbucks.

Because I spend so much time at my Starbucks, I am starting to have people. They know me, are happy to see me, and often will give me free coffee… I think they are beginning to be my people. I’m having a rough night tonight, I have so much work to do, I don’t feel well, and I’m, starting to freak out about the wedding a little. I told one of my new people that in exactly 6 months from right this moment- I will be at my rehearsal dinner. I told her this because she often seems pretty understanding of the Starbucks customers, but she just kind of looked at me like “This isn’t a bar, I’m not a bartender here to listen to your problems”. It caught me off-guard. I think that I am way too trusting of people and I expect people to reciprocate that trust without thinking. Maybe this girl is not very nice though. From what I have observed, her manager doesn’t seem to like her- so maybe this isn’t my opening up to the Barista Bitch.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

