Skip to content

Pumpkin Muffins.

November 9, 2008

After what could only be described as the great pumpkin muffin disaster of 2008 (last night’s attempt at a new recipe) I tried again, using a more reputable recipe from the food network. I tweaked it by adding 1 cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips and 1 cup of chopped walnuts. The recipe yielded enough for a loaf pan and 12 muffins.

The loaf pan was baked first. The recipe says to bake at 350p1000607 for 30 minutes. 30 minutes came, and it was a soupy mess. I ended up having to leave it in for a total of 80 minutes before it was done. I checked the recipe’s reviews and many other people had the same issue, so I blame the lady who wrote the recipe. After an hour and 20 minutes, and barely enough cooling time- I couldn’t help but taste. Delicious- it had the perfect crispy crust and it was moist on the inside.

Now anyone who knows me knows that a cupcake sized version of anything is far better than the larger. They take way less time to bake- and for someone as impatient as I am, that it the best part. I had just enough batter to make 12 muffins after the loaf was done. I didn’t even time how long they took to bake, but I did just keep an eye on them and pulled them when they were the right golden color and the knife test came out clean.

After I let them cool- I frosted them with a cream cheese frosting (1/2 stick softened butter, 1 8oz pack of softened cream cheese, 1/2 cup powdered sugar, 1/2 tsp vanilla, 1/2 tsp of each nutmeg, clove, cinnamon). Then, on the tops I sprinkled nutmeg and cinnamon.

p1000602 p1000603

(the second picture was David saying- “make sure you get the top so they can see the spices”)

The Best part about baking with David around is 1. He loves to eat anything I make- and pumpkin is his favorite. And 2. He does all my dishes when I cook or bake for him. Seriously- all of them. It keeps me wanting to cook for him without it feeling like a burden. p1000605

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 9, 2008 1:25 am

    awesome!! those cupcakes look amazing. plus – the addition of chocolate chips and walnuts was def. a great idea. i would have done at least the chocolate chips myself, a delicious combination.

    looks like married life is going pretty swell so far. kudos to david for doing the dishes! what a good guy 🙂

  2. Sarah permalink
    November 10, 2008 2:45 am

    My hubs and I had the arrangement for long time. And then we starting cooking together… we bickered about the dishes. So now he loads the dishwasher and I unload…. ok I do both most of the time. But he thinks he’s helping. On a lighter note… hubbies always love what wifeys make out of love ❤

Leave a Reply

