Skip to content

TJ the Boy Wonder

January 14, 2009

So last week I made an appointment to get my hair cut with a very sweet sounding girl named Elizabeth at a place in my neighborhood. My appointment was on Friday after work, and as you can tell from  the photo  of my “before” hair- it was time for a haircut and I was very excited.

10am Friday.

I get a call from a (614) number on my cell phone while I was at work. Last time that happened it was the agency that I am temping and and there was a problem with my time card… So I thought I better answer.  It was the salon letting me know that sweet Elizabeth had called in sick and was unable to cut my hair that evening. I was asked if I wanted to reschedule and I happily said that I was. An appointment with either the girl with who I was speaking or one with TJ was offered to me, and not to sound weird or like I was favoring either one of the complete stranger/stylists, I said “whichever works better for your schedules”. My appointment was with TJ.

12pm Friday.

It was my lunch time and that gives me guiltless time to goof off on the internet. What was the first thing I did? Google TJ. Turns out he was incredibly easy to find as he had a myspace linking directly to the salon’s website. Bingo. TJ is a 22 year old, straight, proud father hairstylist who’s heroes are “all the famous hairstylists and [his] mom”. What? 22? Straight? I didn’t understand. What is a straight, 22 year old young man doing working at an upscale salon in a trendy neighborhood? I immediately began to chat with my friend Sarah and we both agreed that a small child (or how she referred to him- a fetus) was going to be cutting my hair that evening. The excitement that had been building about my post-long-wedding haircut was starting to fade into nervousness.

3:00 pm Friday.

I made up my mind that if TJ the little boy hairstylist wasn’t any good that the salon wouldn’t have hired him. Stereotypes aside, I was sure that he would be very talented- and that he was going to do a great job cutting my hair.

4:00PM.

I decided that I was starving (because I am a stress eater and I was stressed) and that I wanted McDonald’s french fries and a diet coke.

4:30PM

Leave my work and get into the car and make my way back down south. I inhaled the french fries and diet coke. They were delicious as I expected them to be.

5:15PM

I pull into the lot next to the post office so I can mail a letter before the cut. I drop the envelope in the big blue box, and walk half a block and into the stylish salon. It is warm and decorated in light blue and brown. It reminds me of the way we decorated our bedroom. I am immediately offered snacks or a glass of wine. I decline to both.  I just want to meet TJ and get my long awaited hair cut.

5:40 PM

From the back walks a very short young man with a bright pink faux-hawk. Straight? I’m not so sure.  He introduces himself as TJ, and we walk back to his station. We talk about my hair, what like, and what I want. I decide to chop it off and he exclaims “You’re fun!”- which I am.  He shampoos my hair, which is always my favorite part of getting a haircut. It’s something that you do for yourself every day- and it’s really nice when someone else does it. Then, back at the chair we get started. I’m getting ready to settle in for awhile… when he asks me to stand up. What? I have had a lot of haircuts- but never have I been asked to stand up for one. I get up and face the mirror. He starts to cut off all of my hair. I love the feeling of getting a major haircut.  Then, I am asked to turn around. TJ and I are the same height I realize- no wonder I am standing up- my head is at exact eye level. He starts to trim the sides, then the bangs and then the unmistakable…

….a boob graze.

Now, there was NO reason for that to have happened- as you can see from the picture in the previous post- my hair is well above my shoulders. I assumed that it was a total accident  and he was too embarrassed to say anything. But  a couple minutes later  it happened again! I made up my mind to not go to him again after that- and just finish the weird standing up harassment haircut and go and get a burrito with my husband.

7:00PM

I am singing a whole new tune.

I walk out of the salon with a FABULOUS haircut. And I mean fab-u-lous.  TJ did an amazing job. It is trendy, and adorable, and sexy and a Little edgy all at the same time.  It’s easy to do- doesn’t take up TOO much time in the morning. I love it, and regardless of some of his behavior and personal hairstyle choice- I will be visiting TJ again.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Sarah permalink
    January 14, 2009 4:35 am

    I loved the recap 🙂

    I’m glad TJ, the fetus, worked out well too. And for the record the hair is the absolute HOTNESS!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. January 14, 2009 4:37 am

    Haircuts are serious business. I’ve had some bad ones — including an unsolicited mullet.

    Yours on the other hand looked quite fetching, indeed.

  3. January 14, 2009 5:20 am

    ahhh! lol wonderful story post 🙂 thanks for writing! hehehe the haircut is wonderful and DANG your hair was long for the wedding! haha

  4. cindy permalink
    January 16, 2009 9:32 pm

    don’t judge a book by its cover
    love mom

  5. cindy permalink
    January 16, 2009 10:03 pm

    http://willows95988.typepad.com/

Leave a Reply

