Skip to content

I’m going to be a bridesmaid…

July 8, 2009

In a week. Here’s the story:

My friend Carrie at work is getting married on the 18th (in 10 days). While she has all the details down and done, with the exception of the place cards- which I am making for her, she is very stressed out. Work is rough lately for all of us- which is stressful enough by itself. She’s getting married in 10 days, which makes it even worse.

She had 4 bridesmaids, all four of which she grew up with… went to high school with… lived with off and on… they are 4 of her closest friends in the world.

… and I meant to say had.

She has had some issues with one of the girls… she has not been the most reliable person lately. In only the last 3 weeks she went from being engaged & living with her fiance to meeting another man from Texas on World of Warcraft- to visiting that man- to driving back to Ohio to break off the engagement – to moving to texas. WHAT???? This girl lost her job due to a lay-off a few months ago and is flat broke. She had to borrow money to drive back DOWN to texas… and can’t afford to come back up in the next week.

…and she told Carrie all this yesterday. 10 days before she agreed to stand up next to her lifelong friend while she gets married.

She was down to 3.

Another one of the bridesmaids calls today while we were at work. Her grandmother who she has been living with for the last 10 years was crossing the street in her neighborhood, and was hit by an off-duty police man on a morotcycle. She was released from the hospital, went though her rehab therapy, re-learning how to walk… and was at home. Yesterday she was having multi-organ failure and was put on hospice. This girl is obviously going through a LOT and called Carrie to tell her that she simply cannot do it. She has too much going on, with her grandmother. Carrie understood- becuase I mean, how can you not?

Down to 2.

Around 3:30 she walks into my cube with big welling tears and we run upstairs (ya know, cause I work in a basement) and I ask her what happens. She tells me the whole saga. Tells me she doesn’t know what she is going to do.

She is getting married in 10 days. I know what this is like. I did this 9 months ago. Everyone wants something from you. Everyone  has an opinion about something. Everyone has a change to make on the plans you have worked for 11 months to create.  This is very stressful. 2 bridesmaids dropping out of your bridal party 10 days before the wedding is very. stressful.

The next thing I know…. I am trying to figure out where I am going to find a pair of silver shoes in the next 10 days and also figure out how to make a size 16 dress fit me.

She is getting to be a close friend, and I know the shit she puts up with from that particular newly-texan ex-bridesmaid. I offered because she needs someone there to help her get stuff done, vent to, and go for the occasional pedicure when things get to be too much (which we did last week!)… and seriously- the maid of honor hasn’t done anything to help with the wedding… or any of that.  She also had the whole ceremony mapped out with 4 bridesmaids and 4 groomsmen- and she could use some major symmetry lately to counteract the nuttiness that is 10 days before a wedding. She needs someone there to support her and understands the misery that is 10 days before your wedding. That someone is me.

Not sure what I’ve gotten myself into- I guess we’ll see.

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 8, 2009 11:05 pm

    you’re a great friend erica!

Leave a Reply

