Skip to content

New Car :)

July 29, 2009

We did it! We bought our new car!

My van, Victor was purchased by my parents- brand new in 1992. I was 6, my sister 4. Because he was a van, we needed a “V” name. Victor it was. My mom drove that car every day to college when she finished up her degree at East Texas State University. We drove it to Corpus Christi beach for vacation, Stillwater, OK for the Courtright family reunion. Then- we drove it from Greenville, Texas where we lived, to Dayton Ohio where we finished growing up. He’s driven from Dayton to DC, back and forth from John Hole Elementary, Watts Middle School, then to Centerville High School. He’s made millions of trips to Ballet, piano, trumpet, saxophone lessons, track, volleyball, and cross country practice… and many many more to marching band practice.

In 2001 my mom got her new car, a little green Jetta… and the van was moved to the street. I turned 16, got my driver’s license, and begged my parents to let me drive Victor. They eventually allowed me to- and that was the start of a long life together.

He drove my sister and I to school, to band practice, to the Mc’s house.  It took me home from breaking up with my first ever serious boyfriend, then driving my now husband home every day from jazz ensemble practice.

I got in my first ever car accident in that car, on the way to school in February of my Junior year- where I crashed into a beige ford SUV of some sort… and then an hour later rear-ended a woman in a sedan at a red light.  I was scared to drive for a week.

When I went to college, my sister got that driver’s license and became Victor’s navigator for 2 years where she got into 3 car wrecks. In an effort to prevent her from driving far, my dad disconnected the AC… so those 2 summers were miserable for her.

Lydia went off to college in 2006. I was no longer living in the dorms, and needed a car. Victor was allowed to come to Bowling Green with me. David was also in Columbus at this point- so that van hauled all my things from Dayton to Bowling Green… and then almost every weekend from Bowling Green to Columbus, and back. In those 2 years, I put some major milage on that car.

In May of 2008, I loaded up all my things, and moved back to Dayton for 4 months… and then after the wedding- loaded it up again and moved in with my husband in Columbus. I drove Victor one last winter- and he would only sometimes want to start, and was horrible in the snow. I knew as soon as we could, we needed to replace him.

This past week- his engine started to seize- it was no longer getting any oil- and was breaking down. It was time. We were really lucky that it qualified for Cash for Clunkers… and so we traded in a virtually worthless car for $4500 and bought a new Civic. I cried like a baby driving away from him yesterday in our new car… he was good to me and safely drove my family around for 17 years. Goodbye, sweet Victor. You’ve been very good to me.

New Car 035

4 Comments leave one →
  1. cindy permalink
    July 29, 2009 2:57 pm

    Farewell Sir Victor, you served us well.Rest in peace.
    Mom

  2. July 30, 2009 12:48 pm

    I’m so glad that you wrote about Victor. You will love your new Civic. I had one years ago and it was a gem. Congratulations!

  3. Sarah permalink
    July 30, 2009 9:30 pm

    Pic doesn’t show 😦

    Congrats! Buying a car has such mixed emotions behind it. I remember when we got Mike’s car. I was oh so happy but at the same time that’s a LOT of money all at once. Congrats again!!

  4. Sarah permalink
    July 31, 2009 12:32 pm

    YAY!!! I can see the picture!!! WOOT WOOT for the new car!!! Does it have a name?

Leave a Reply

