Skip to content

What’s been going on…

August 28, 2009

The cat has been healthy. No car issues. Work (while very busy) is going very smoothly. My sister is safely back in Lexington (read about her summer adventures here). My dad’s new company has started construction on the building. David and I are having a great time in Columbus.

So, pretty much- Life is good.

We joined a CSA this summer. I don’t know that I already wrote about it, but it’s with The Wayward Seed Farm. Jaime and Adam run it- and I just have to say that it is the best decision we have ever made. A lot of people who aren’t from a city with access to good farmers markets have never heard about these, especially those from the ‘burbs. Ohio is such a farming state, and it is a shame that I have lived here for 15 years (granted in the suburbs where everyone shops at fancy over-priced grocery stores that have just noe embraced local) and hadn’t heard of a CSA until this summer. It’s a damn shame. Here’s how it works…

At the start of the summer, David and I selected how much of a share we wanted, what kind (fruit and/or veggies) and how often we would receive it. We were too late for the fruit shares- they had all been claimed at that point, so we had to settle for just veggie. We decided on getting a share for 2 people every other week. Their website has a little for you fill out and you do the math on how much you owe,  and we were set.  It ended up costing us $240… and our shares go from June 6 till November 21. Every other week, Jaime and Adam (or some of their lovely assistants) meet us at the North Market Farmer’s Market and give us giant bags full of lovely vegetables.

I was going to write more, and I will. I have a FREE weekend (totally excited) and have lots of photos and such that I want to share of my csa adventures so far.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. barefaced permalink
    August 28, 2009 7:18 pm

    Wow!!! That’s just an awesome idea. I’ve never heard of anything like that before. Good to know and thanks for sharing. I go to Treadway Market on 48 in the Ville and I LOVE IT!!! They are awesome. I’ll have to check out the whole CSA with them for next year. Thanks again for the info.

  2. August 30, 2009 12:58 pm

    This is a wonderful concept. Please post photos, and write more about it. Other communities could really benefit from that idea…I have an acquaintance who is in one of these groups, but instead of paying, I think she works in the garden. Awesome use of resources!

Leave a Reply

