Skip to content

My Home

September 12, 2009

I finally feel comfortable and settled enough to post pictures of our “new” place. (I say ‘new’ cause we’ve been living here since memorial day). So, here you are 🙂

kitchen

This is my favorite part of my home.  I actually have counter space! The last apartment we lived in, I had a 1’x1.5′ rectangle of counter, and that was it. When we bought our espresso machine, that space was reduced even further- it barely held a dinner plate . BUT NOW… Space! I love my breakfast bar- we bought some leather barstools a few weeks ago, and now whenever I am cooking- David brings the laptop up there, plays music, and chats with me. It’s wonderful. I also have a dishwasher now- which is just wonderful 🙂 we still wash quite a few dishes by hand, but it’s so nice to not feel guilty about using a spoon.

diningHere is our new dining room table. I almost ALWAYS have flowers on my table… I get myself a bouquet every time I go to Trader Joe’s. I usually get an $8.99 mix of some sort, and they’re always beautiful. The green place-mats were purchased from my home town’s annual boy scout garage sale for a quarter for the set, and the napkins are from Crate and Barrel. Before, we had a tiny little table (it was perfect for our miniature eat-in kitchen in the last apartment) with only 2 chairs. We couldn’t have any one over for dinner!  This year, we plan on having Thanksgiving for my mom, dad, sister, mother and father in law, and ourselves. I’m happy to have a table and chairs to fit everyone!

The hutch in back was found by my mom at a furniture consignment shop. This particular store has price ‘count-downs’… as time passes, the price decreases. She found this hutch on the cheapest day, $117.00!!! We are eventually going to re-finish it to match the rest of the dining room set.

This is it for now… I’m working on getting the rest of it in order and decorated. I think we’ve decided on staying here, at least another year beyond the length of our lease. We can’t even stomach the thought of moving again… and we really love where we are right now- home sweet home!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 12, 2009 9:20 pm

    It looks great…I would also love a
    breakfast bar,” where you can cook and still have company. It looks wonderful! I’m so happy for you both.

  2. barefaced permalink
    September 12, 2009 10:42 pm

    Absolutely BEAUTIFUL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I can’t wait to see the rest of your place. I’m sure it’s going to be darling… just like you 🙂 hehehe

  3. barefaced permalink
    September 12, 2009 11:52 pm

    FYI: I love the new blog look. It’s fabulous!!

  4. barefaced permalink
    September 13, 2009 9:40 am

    My friend Tom for college has swine flu. I think he’s getting better so that is such a relief. And hopefully I will be setting up Mike’s on line portfolio here soon. As soon as it’s up, I’ll send you the link.

Leave a Reply

