Skip to content

Ugh, root Vegetables.

September 20, 2009

In our CSA bag this week- we got a rutabaga. The only thing I know how to do with a rutabaga is roast it with other root vegetables. The problem? I am less than the world’s biggest fan of roasted root vegetables. I’ll eat them, but I feel like they all sort of taste the same when doused in olive oil, salt and pepper and roasted. I needed something special to do with my rutabaga.

I spent all morning prepping some beets- trimming, scrubbing, wrapping in foil (individually) and piling them into a roasting pan and letting them go at 375 for a couple hours. I plan on making a salad with a balsamic dressing, walnuts goat cheese and beets. I also had some carrots that were about to turn- so I made pickles (recipe to follow). I was on a root vegetable roll, and ready to make up a way to eat this rutabaga. I searched online, and found a few recipes for pureed soups. I used the boiling in broth method, and made up my own soup 🙂 It turned out to be a curried rutabaga bisque. And it turned out to be delicious. here’s what I did…

Curried Rutabaga Bisque (Made 2-3 big bowls full)

Ingredients

  • 1 large rutabaga- I have no idea how heavy it was, but it was about the size of a softball
  • 1 32oz box of chicken broth (use vegetable if you are a vegetarian)
  • 2 cloves of garlic, roughly chopped- it’s going to be pureed later.
  • 1/2 cup of sour cream
  • curry powder
  • ground cloves
  • nutmeg
  • salt and pepper

Method

  1. Rinse off the dirt from the rutabaga, peel it with a carrot peeler, and cut up into dice sized cubes.
  2. In a sauce pan- add the whole box of broth, garlic and all the rutabaga. Turn on the heat, bring to a boil. Turn the heat down, cover and simmer until the rutabaga is tender. It took about 30 minutes for me- just keep an eye on it. When it’s done- it can be easily stabbed with a fork.
  3. Pull the rutabaga out of the broth (save the broth!) and put that into a food processor (or blender). pulse once or twice, then add the sour cream. Turn on the food processor, and slowly pour the broth in, stopping when you’re happy with the consistency. I ended up using all the broth, but it all depends on the size of the rutabaga. While it’s still whirring away- add your curry, ground cloves, ground nutmeg, salt and pepper.
  4. pour it back into the pan to heat before serving, the sour cream cooled it off.

This was absolutely amazing, I think this method would work with any root vegetable- maybe roasting beforehand to add depth of flavor. I think I’m going to try to make a sweet potato soup like this next. I hope you try it… it’s so much better than eating a roasted root alongside a roasted meat dish. {bor-ing!}

Pickled Carrots

We made pickled carrots once before this summer- 4 jars of them. I used this recipe from the blog Food in Jars the first time. They were the most amazing thing we have had in awhile. Spicy, salty, crunchy… and they are SO SO SO EASY to make. They went fast, so today I made a new batch. These are refrigerator pickles, and meant to stay there. These are not meant to be stored at room temperature, and they can go bad after a couple of weeks- eat them fast (you won’t have a problem with that), give them away, or make a manageable batch. Here’s the recipe for those…

Ingredients-

  • carrots, quartered or halved lengthwise depending on how thick they are, then trimmed to the size of your canning jars
  • sauce pan full of boiling water
  • bowl (or a plugged sink) with ice and cold water in it
  • 1 cup apple cider vinegar, 1 cup water, 1 Tbs kosher salt (this is your brine- this amount was enough for a 1 pt and a half pint jar full of carrots. Make as much as you need, using the jar sizes as a guide)
  • bay leaves
  • ground cloves
  • whole garlic cloves (1 or 2 per Jar)
  • hot red pepper flakes

Method-

  1. Peel and chop your carrots according to the size of them. I usually half them because we have been getting skinny carrots this summer. I imagine if you had really fat carrots, you could slice them into round coin shaped bits. It’s up to you.
  2. Blanch the carrots for no more than 30 seconds in the boiling water. You want to make sure they stay crunchy- soft pickles are not a delicious thing. As soon as they are done, pull them out and put them straight into the ice water to stop the cooking.
  3. Pack the carrots into your canning jars. For this batch, I used a small 1/2 pint jar and a pint mason jar. Make sure they are not too tightly packed and there is about a centimeter of space to the top of the jar.
  4. While you are doing this, prepare your brine by using that same saucepan from before. dump in the cup of water, cup of vineagar, and the tablespoon of kosher salt. Bring to a boil- make sure to occasionally stir.
  5. In your mason jars, stuff in a clove or 2 of garlic, about a quarter teaspoon of ground cloves, a bay leaf, and however much of the pepper flakes that you can handle. They’ll give them a considerable bite, so if you don’t like spicy- don’t add any. I used a big pinch in the larger jar, and a small pinch in the little one.
  6. Once all your carrots and seasonings are in your jars, pour the boiling brine over the carrots, making sure they are covered- but still leaving a little space in the top of the jar.
  7. Using a towel to hold your jar (you just put boiling brine in there!) assemble your mason jar. Leave them out on your counter until they cool, and then stick them in the fridge for 2-3 days. Enjoy 🙂
4 Comments leave one →
  1. barefaced permalink
    September 20, 2009 4:15 pm

    Look at you, Mrs. Domestic!!!! Hahaha. That soup of yours sounds excellent. I’ve never pickled anything. I’m a little nervous but maybe I’ll try it.

  2. Cindy permalink
    September 20, 2009 6:16 pm

    The soup sounds great. Soup is my favorite food group.
    mom

  3. karengberger permalink
    September 20, 2009 11:34 pm

    Mouth watering…yum! Thanks for the inspiration.

  4. Monika Paden permalink
    November 10, 2009 3:15 pm

    Loving the blog!

    The way I prefer rutabaga is even more boring than roasted but brings back memories…I didn’t like them when I was little but had to try it along with everything else in the spread every Thanksgiving …and it was cooked just like every other vegetable my mom prepared: peeled, diced, boiled, and then salted and buttered on your plate. Eventually I learned to enjoy them and my favorite way to eat them now is cold leftovers of the above. Little bite-sized snacks of goodness.

Leave a Reply

