Skip to content

The Kitchen

January 2, 2010

I get bored easily. I get especially bored when things are boring. Are you surprised? I’m not.

I love my kitchen. The counter space is huge, the appliances are brand new, and it’s open to the rest of the loft. There’s a big breakfast bar surrounding the kitchen, and often when I am cooking- David will bring the laptop, sit at the bar and chat with me. It’s lovely.

Lovely- but kind of boring.

One of the questions I asked all of the leasing managers when we were apartment hunting was if it was alright to paint. Most places were a resounding “NO”. Most places were also painted stark white. This complex said, “Sure, as long as you paint it back before you move out”. So, since we have moved in- I have been dying to change the soft ecru color in the kitchen to red. We recently decided that we will in fact be living here for more than a year- and so it would be worth painting.

I had 3 days after Christmas weekend off of work, and so I decided that it was time to paint.

Before: See how most of my things are red? I absolutely love the color!

I picked out this swatch, called “Posh Red”. I was so worried that it was going to be too dark, as I didn’t want the kitchen’s light to be sucked out.

I didn’t end up using the tintable color primer… and so it took 4 coats of paint to make it even looking without any beige showing through. See? (I think this was after coat 2)

Also, after coat number three, I realized that I had made a big mistake. When I asked my dad (all knowing-home-improvement-guru) what finish of paint I should use to paint my black-splash, he told me “Semi-Gloss”. Well, turns out when I said “back-splash”, he heard “cabinet”. So, I ended up with this bright red, super shiny wall. Oops. David and went back to Lowes, and bought a tiny sample can of the same color in a “satin” finish. It cost $2.90 and I only ended up using half of it. Success! It was no longer shiny, and it finished beautifully.

Behold: Red Kitchen!

The switch plate covers are not back on in this photo because I wanted to be sure-sure-sure that the paint was 100% dry before I did. I am so happy with how it turned out! What do you think?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. barefaced permalink
    January 2, 2010 3:14 pm

    Turned out BEAUTIFUL! πŸ˜€ Love the color.

  2. Monika permalink
    January 2, 2010 4:02 pm

    It looks great! Our kitchen is red too (from the previous owners) and I think it is just such a ‘kitcheny’ color :)…though our accessories are mostly cobalt :-p.

  3. January 2, 2010 4:50 pm

    Red is one of my kitchen colors. I got my mom’s red Kitchenaid mixer, so I get red accessories to match. But once I’m not renting anymore I’m going to paint the walls aqua. πŸ™‚

  4. January 3, 2010 1:33 am

    Warm and yummy color. It will spice up your winter, for sure!

  5. January 4, 2010 10:14 am

    Spicy! That’s awesome! πŸ˜€

  6. January 4, 2010 1:24 pm

    I think it looks awesome! I love the warm, glowy feeling it adds to the kitchen.

    Also: Thank you for the Christmas card. I’m sorry I didn’t get one sent back to you. December was a heck of a month, which culminated in me spending part of Christmas week in the hospital. I plan to participate next year, though, and I’ve added you to my RSS reader. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

