Skip to content

She’s a Lunch Time Blogger

January 4, 2010

This whole NaBloPoMo thing is presenting itself to be much more of a challenge than I anticipated. Sorry yesterday was such a lame-o post. (not that my Christmas tree and cat are lame-o, the shortness and lack of cohesive sentences was lame-o). Yesterday we put away our christmas decorations (read: put them all in their boxes and stacked them in the living room) and then went to see Avatar {AWESOME MOVIE}, and then went and ate dinner at Bodega. We had a gift certificate that was going to expire on the 24th, so we made sure to use it, and NOT lose it.

What did that all mean?

By the time we made it home- I was tired. I wanted to throw a load of clothes in the laundry, snuggle with my cat and continue “The Office” binge we’ve been on. The last thing my brain was ready to do was put together a meaningful blog post. So- those of you who came to visit my little slice of the internet yesterday- sorry!

Something that I am going to have to push myself to do during this challenge is to make time for writing. I work normal business hours. The last thing I want to do when I get home from the office is sit down in front of another computer screen and make myself write. ya know?

Here’s how I’m going to fix this problem-o.

{Backstory…} I used to spend all of my free time in (and after) college at Starbucks. I would bring my laptop or my journal and write. I loved it. I would camp out at a table for hours in the mornings. I loved being anonymous, I loved the busy-ness and the flurry of people craving caffine getting their fix, leaving happy. I loved it. I don’t do that anymore. I now am one of the “stand in line and leave” people I used to love watching so much. I’ve decided to change that.

I get an hour for lunch. There is a Starbucks not more than 2 blocks away from my office. It’s perfect. I’m going to start to spend as many of my lunches devoted to growing in my writing and creativity as I can.

That’s where I am now. It’s empty because it’s a drive-thru store, and it’s a big time suburb in the winter time. People don’t want to leave the warmth of their SUV’s. I don’t blame them. I’m wearing some totally snow inappropriate heels today. They look SO cute, but I am freezing. {I’ll never learn}. I am happy though. After I leave here I have 3.5 hours until the end of the day. That makes me particularly happy. I brought all my work-out clothes to use the fitness room after work . That makes me happy too.

I need to grow, and for whatever reason it’s important to me that I am successful at this challenge in order to do so. My surroundings make all the difference in my motivation level. SO- I put myself in a positive place, and now I am going to try to stick to it and be successful at this. We’ll see how it goes 🙂

It doesn’t hurt that my motivational happy place supplies de-lish coffee and tea
{also, they’re playing Marvin Gaye right now!!}

Where is your motivational happy place?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. barefaced permalink
    January 4, 2010 8:20 pm

    A few things – one, loved your posts – both yesterday and today. Two, LOVE your scarf!!! In fact – I need to see more of it because I want to knit one similar. Three – I’m glad you have found a happy place. Happy places are extremely important in life (especially come the time you pop out some kiddos). I am not exactly sure where my happy place is. My happy time is Soph’s nap time though. I do most of my work in our office although I would love to people watch at a Starbucks like you. 🙂

  2. Cindy permalink
    January 5, 2010 10:02 am

    Erica, you are inspiring me to be a better blogger. Right now my happy place is in my warm office/studio, but not much in the inspiration dept.
    Love, Mom

Leave a Reply

