Skip to content

Dinner tonight

January 10, 2010

I made salmon en papillote tonight for dinner 🙂

….salmon papi-what? It is a fancy way of saying that I made salmon cooked inside a calzone made out of parchment paper.

🙂

It was beautiful, SO easy- clean up was a snap… and perfectly cooked. Here’s how you can do this too… *(note- I used salmon because we like it. You’re more of an orange roughy boy or girl? cool- use that)

  1. Make sure you have parchment paper. foil could work- but it wouln’t give you that beautiful crispy paper to tear through before digging in.
  2. Cut the parchment into a big circle for every serving you are going to make.
  3. Pre-heat the oven with your baking sheet in it to 400.
  4. Collect your ingredients. I used a pack of wild caught salmon filets (thawed from frozen- from Trader Joe’s), a whole zucchini, a half of a lemon, kalamata olives, olive oil, fresh tarragon, and salt/pepper.
  5. Assemble your packets. Lay the paper down, a salt and peppered piece of salmon, your lemon, cut into thin round slices, your zucchini the same way, a tarragon sprig, your sliced kalamatas, and a drizzle of olive oil, and more salt and pepper.
  6. Then, wrap it up like a calzone by folding the ends together, and then  roll/fold the edges toward the fish. Make sure that it is closed tightly so that no steam can escape. It should look like this:
  7. Place your packets on your hot, preheated baking sheet and cook for 20 minutes. (yes, I do realize that those are paperclips on my parchment packets in the photo. I wanted to be sure sure sure that my edges were sealed, so I used the only non-melting clips I could find. My stapler is MIA). The packets will brown a little, and puff up as they cook.
  8. Take it out of the oven, and if you really want to get oohs and ahs- keep the fish in the packet and put it right on the plate. Right when it’s time to eat, cut an X on the top of the packet and slightly pull back the edges of the paper. Beautiful.
    So sorry for the neon-whiteness of the photo… I couldn’t get my exposure right before I lost all self control and had to dig in. This is David’s plate. I had much less rice, and the garlic sauteed spinach too.

I really think this dish is easy and pretty enough to pass for a company meal. You really should try it!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. barefaced permalink
    January 11, 2010 1:07 am

    This looks fantastic!!!! I am definitely going to have to try this. I don’t do as well with vegetables I am not used to cooking with but I definitely want to expand my horizons. Thanks for sharing 🙂

  2. January 11, 2010 1:28 pm

    YUM! Thanks for the inspiration.

Leave a Reply

