Skip to content

Let the Sun SHINE

January 13, 2010

Today the sun is out. Big time. It’s a heat wave here in central ohio… a balmy 24. It’s supossed to reach the low 30’s! I made sure that I made it over to Starbucks to spend lunch because I needed to be re-assured that  it does in-fact get light during the day. See… I work in a basement.

Yep. A basement.

My company remodeled our storage-warehouse type basement into what they call “the luxury level”, and moved my entire department down there. It’s actually very nice… we have a little kitchen with an icemaker and a dishwasher, a work-out room, lofted ceilings and an in-suite bathroom with a shower. The only problem?

It’s a basement.

There are exactly 0 windows in our basement.

I have no idea if it’s raining, snowing, sunny, cloudy, dark or drizzling. This is a problem because remember how Ohio gets dark in the winter? It gets dark starting around 5. (Our office closes at 5). There were sometimes weeks in December where I did not see the daylight for days in a row. No windows = no access to the outside world, and certainly = no sunshine. This is a problem. The windowless basement is a problem.

So, when driving in the dark this morning, I saw that there were very, very few clouds forming in the sky. There was surely going to be sunshine and I was not going to miss it. I ate lunch while working at my desk absurdly early. 12:30 rolled along and I packed up my stuff and headed into the glorious sunshine. The sun is reflecting off the snow and it is the most bright shining winter day I think I have seen in a long, long time. People seem happier today out in the world.

I’m sitting in Starbucks- the walls are covered in windows. People keep coming in, getting their drinks, and today they don’t seem as rushed or as agitated. The sun is out. It brightens more than just the sky.

****Here is my little rant… (ignore if you wish)****

I wish I at least had a window that I could walk by every once in awhile at work. I think my whole department would be happier if there was access to a little sunshine. Yes, I realize that the Luxury Level was created in response to a lack of space and a growing department… however I can’t see how forcing 13 women to work underground with no sunshine is the best idea. People work harder when they are happy. This whole lack of sunshine is preventing my co-workers and I to not be as happy as we can be…. which I can stand to guess is lowering our productivity. I know for a fact it is limiting my creativity- which is a problem when I’m our company’s Marketing Department…

***rant over***

All I am saying is that today, I am happy that the sun is shining 🙂

One Comment leave one →
  1. barefaced permalink
    January 13, 2010 5:11 pm

    So sorry to here about your lack of windows. Reminds me of those days back at Watts. So sad……

Leave a Reply

